TU Home > News > TU alum Gerry Gaeng selected as a "Lawyer of the Year"

TU alum Gerry Gaeng selected as a “Lawyer of the Year”

Gerry Gaeng HS

Towson U alumnus Gerry Gaeng was honored again for outstanding work in the legal field.

Gerard J. Gaeng, a partner at Rosenberg Martin Greenberg, LLP and chair of the firm’s litigation department, was recently selected as 2016 “Lawyer of the Year” for Litigation – Banking & Finance in the Baltimore area.

Only a single lawyer in each practice area and designated metropolitan area is honored as the “Lawyer of the Year.” These lawyers are selected based on voting averages received during peer-review assessments.

Gaeng currently serves as co-chair of Towson University’s 150th Anniversary Celebration Committee.

Gaeng has handled successfully some of the region’s largest and most complex litigation matters, in both state and federal trial and appellate courts.

A former federal judicial law clerk, Maryland Assistant Attorney General, and counsel to a congressionally created commission that investigated the nation’s savings and loan crisis of the 1980s, he has featured in a short list of Maryland’s “local litigation stars” in every annual edition of “Benchmark: America’s Leading Litigation Firms and Attorneys,” where clients have praised him for “astounding results” and described him as “simply the best.” Similarly, he has been listed in the 2008 – 2015 editions of “Maryland Super Lawyers.”

Gaeng is a past president and former chair of the Board of Governors for the Federal Bar Association – Maryland Chapter. He is also an active member of the Maryland State Bar Association, the Bar Association of Baltimore City, the Bar Association of Baltimore County, and the Advisory Committee for the Lawyers’ Campaign Against Hunger.

A 1981 Towson alum, Gaeng is currently President Emeritus of the Towson University Alumni Association. He has been honored for his continued support and service by receiving the Towson University’s 2000 Alumni Association Spirit of the University Award, the 2007 Dean’s Recognition Award for the College of Liberal Arts, and the 2014 Alumni Association Volunteer Service Award.

Article adapted from Washington DC citybizlist

, , , , , ,