TU Home > News > Towson receives Carnegie Foundation 2015 Community Engagement Classification

Towson receives Carnegie Foundation 2015 Community Engagement Classification

Through the hard work of the students, faculty and staff, Towson University has been awarded the 2015 Community Engagement Classification from the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching.

Receiving this classification, Towson recognizes its priorities and emphasis on engaged and collaborative teaching, learning and scholarship that deepen students’ civic and academic learning and enhance community well-being.


Towson is one of only three institutions in Maryland to receive the classification, and one of only 361 institutions that are classified nationally. This puts Towson in an elite group of universities that are leading the way in community engaged scholarship, community engagement and outreach initiatives.

“This classification sets us apart from many other institutions and affirms our commitment to community engagement across the university,” said Towson University Interim President Timothy Chandler. “As an institution of higher education, we are making significant strides in finding ways to engage with and contribute to the greater community.”

Founded by Andrew Carnegie in 1905 and chartered in 1906 by an Act of Congress, the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching is an independent policy and research center whose charge is “to do and perform all things necessary to encourage, uphold, and dignify the profession of the teacher and the cause of higher education.”

Towson first received the classification in 2008. Of the 188 institutions that were eligible for re-classification, 157 actually received the 2015 re-classification.

A cross-campus taskforce from different areas in the university was charged with compiling information for the application in order to reflect the commitments and accomplishments of all areas of campus.

The taskforce was co-chaired by Dyan Brasington, vice president of Innovation and Applied Research, and Deb Moriarty, vice president of student affairs. Kelsey Beckett from the Office of Partnerships and Outreach was the program manager.

Other members of the taskforce included: Luz Caceda (Office of Assessment); Chris Jensen (Office of Civic Engagement and Leadership); Marina Cooper (President’s Office); Bobbie Laur (Office of Partnerships and Outreach); Marina Sevdalis (Graduate Student); Louise Miller (Integrated Marketing Services); Marlene Riley (Department of Occupational Therapy, Occupational Science); Corinne DeRoberts (Community Service); Glenda Henkel (Career Center); Debbie Seeberger (Office of Diversity and Equal Opportunity); Geannine Callaghan (Foundation Relations); Aileen Trainer (Provost’s Office, Accreditation and Compliance); Bob Giordani ( Registrar’s Office); Patrick Young (Veterans Services); Mary Stapleton (Bioscience Education and Outreach Program); Bethany Pace (Honors College); Cathy Breneman (Department of Family Studies); Carol Wettersten (Division of Administration and Finance); Arundhati Rao (Department of Accounting); David White (Department of Theater Arts; and Raymond Lorion (College of Education).


, , ,